Sunday, December 27, 2015

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins by Antonia Hodgson / A Book Review



One of the pleasures and perks of belonging to Bookbrowse.com is the opportunity to read an occasional Advance Reading Copy of a soon to be published book in exchange for an honest review.  Bookbrowse.com has introduced me to authors I might not otherwise have discovered, which has afforded me hours of pleasure.

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and C.J. Sansom with the murderous activity occurring during the reign of King George II rather than Victorian or Tudor times.

Thomas Hawkins is a “gentleman” ne’er do well who finds himself strapped to his coffin in a cart jostling along the road to his hanging at Tyburn for a murder he did not commit. While Hawkins pleads his innocence and hopes for a pardon from Queen Caroline for whom he has provided some valuable services, he knows that dead men tell no tales and that his death might prove convenient for the Queen.

The book is well researched, entertaining and gives the reader an intimate look into life in London during the early 18th Century including the filth, seediness, prodigious interest in porn, fetish brothels, spousal abuse, criminal investigations and the pomp and circumstance of executions. 

Publication Date: March 15, 2016
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt


There was an error in this gadget